Support SB 350 & SB 32 at the Assembly Nat. Res. Committee 7/13

Senate Bill (SB) 350 and SB 32, key pieces of the Governor's climate agenda, come before the Assembly Natural Resources Committee on July 13th.

SB 350 sets three targets for 2030 that will cut greenhouse gas emissions: source 50% of utility power from renewables, significantly increase building energy efficiency, and reduce petroleum use by 50%. 

SB 32 sets an overarching greenhouse gas emission reduction target of 80 percent below 1990 levels by 2050, building on AB 32 (2006) which set targets for greenhouse gas emissions reduction by 2020. 

Take action

  1. Email and/or call committee members ASAP before the hearing.
  2. Attend the hearing in Sacramento to speak on the record, or show support for those who do.

Talking Points

  • Keep California in the forefront of climate action in the United States and the world. Please vote yes on AB 32 and SB 350 this Monday.
  • Burning fossil fuel is the overwhelming cause of climate disruption. Mary Nichols, Chair of the California Air Resources Board has stated that we must stop burning fossil fuels altogether if we are to avert climate catastrophe. Natural gas is a fossil fuel, just like petroleum gasoline. The inclusion of natural gas as a "non-petroleum" fuel would undermine California's climate program.
  • Natural gas doesn't belong in SB 350. Electrification is a far more effective solution for both climate and public health goals. Please reject the inclusion of natural gas as an option for reducing petroleum, then vote yes on SB 350. 

Contact All Democratic Natural Resources Committee Members' staff ASAP

Use above talking points.

More info in 350 Bay Area's SB 32 and SB 350  letters to the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.

Das Williams, Chair - Santa Barbara, Ventura

Contact Ms Erin Baum 916 319-2037 erin.baum@asm.ca.gov

Cristina Garcia – Cerritos, Downey

Contact Ms Mandi Strella 916 319-2058 mandi.strella@asm.ca.gov

Kevin McCarty – Sacramento area

Contact Mr Alex Harold 916 319-2007 alex.harold@asm.ca.gov

Mark Stone – Santa Cruz, Watsonville, Monterey

Contact Mr Craig Scholer 916 319-2029 craig.scholer@asm.ca.gov

Jim Wood – Santa Rosa north to the border along coast

Contact Ms Voleck Taing 916 319-2002 voleck.taing@asm.ca.gov

Anthony Rendon – North of Long Beach area

Contact Ms Allegra Roth 916 319-2063) allegra.roth@asm.ca.gov

Before the hearing, it's important that the Committee members hear from us in favor of keeping SB 32 and SB 350 strong and effective, and stopping a bad amendment to SB 350 that would include natural gas vehicles as an option for reducing petroleum use. Electrification is a far more effective solution for both climate and public health goals.  See below for the names and Sacramento office contact info of Democratic Committee members.

WHEN
July 13, 2015 at 1:30pm - 4:30pm
WHERE
California State Capitol, Room 447
1315 10th St
Sacramento, CA 95814
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Ken Jones ·
2 RSVPS

Will you come?







Showing 6 reactions

followed this page 2016-10-20 11:15:35 -0700
commented 2015-07-09 17:36:56 -0700 · Flag
rsvped 2015-07-09 17:30:26 -0700
rsvped 2015-07-09 11:22:22 -0700
canceled rsvp +3 2015-07-09 10:10:34 -0700
rsvped +3 2015-07-09 10:09:59 -0700
350 Bay Area
We are building a grassroots climate movement, working for deep reductions in carbon pollution in the San Francisco Bay Area & beyond.

Sign up to Volunteer

Find us on Facebook